Belton Park Golf Club

Founded 1890

Call 01476 567399    Contact Us Belton Park Logo

Belton Park Gents Club Championship.


Belton Park Gents Club Championship.

Gents Club Championship.

Sunday 28th June dawned overcast and blustery as the Gents golfers from Belton Park rose to compete over two rounds of the beautifully manicured fairways for the most cherished prize of all Gents Club Champion. As the day progressed into the back nine of the final round the play of brothers Chris and Matt Haynes took them away from the rest of the field and left them free to battle it out for the title and family bragging rights. As the pair stood on the final tee Chris held a two shot lead but as he hold out for a closing 5 and a round of 71, he knew Matt had a makeable birdie chance to force a playoff. Chris watched on with the rest of the crowd as the putt just slipped passed the hole to crown him champion for the first time.

Scratch for the Clements Scratch Bowl

  1. Chris Haynes 74/ 71
  2. Matt Haynes 74/ 72
  3. John Kirkup 73/ 77
  4. Steve Mitchell 74/ 78

Chris Haynes being presented with the Clement Scratch Bowl by Gents Captain Tony Nichson

Nett for the Shaw Memorial Trophy

  1. Tom Cooper 71/ 68
  2. Alex Doig 75/ 67
  3. Simon Stuart 73/ 70
  4. Ed Glenn 71/ 72

Junior Captain Tom Cooper being presented with the Shaw Memorial Trophy by Gents Captain Tony Nichson

The following 8 qualify for the Scratch Knockout Trophy
Chris Haynes/ Matt Haynes/ John Kirkup/ Steve Mitchell/ Ady Greenberry/ Bruce Macfarlane/ John Duke / Harry Glenn

Congratulations also to John Kirkup who during the morning round struck a 6 iron directly into the hole on the 14th for his first hole in one.